Home » Blog » South Walton Artist of the Year

South Walton Artist of the Year

Each October, a new artist in residence is chosen and honored with the distinction of being the South Walton Artist of the Year. South Walton has a national reputation not only for its gorgeous white sand beaches, but also for its thriving arts community. To showcase the wealth of artistic talent in South Walton, the tourist development council produces the Artist of the Year program. Artists are chosen based on their medium and how well they capture the nature, heritage, and beauty of this coastal community. Visit South Walton is proud to highlight a distinguished and diverse group of Artists of the Year. As you know, Andy represented our community as the 2013 South Walton Artist of the Year.

Visit South Walton Artist of the Year Andy Saczynski
Andy with Visit South Walton staff members Megan Harrison, Pamela Watkins, Kelli Carter, and Jon Ervin (October 2012)

When Andy was awarded the Artist of the Year title on October 16, 2012 (see photos), we were thrilled! It was such an honor to represent this community that we love so much. In August, the tourist development council invited us to travel with them to New Orleans for White Linen Night. Because we didn’t have a plaque or banner explaining who Andy is, they asked him to make a sign for his art tent. The sign turned out cool, but it didn’t look official.

South Walton Artist of the Year

Much to our surprise and delight, Visit South Walton presented Andy with an official plaque just this month. Better late than never! Andy and I appreciate having something tangible to now display in the gallery. The plaque is made of recycled glass and we think it’s beautiful. Thanks, Visit South Walton!

Andy Saczynski Jon Ervin
Andy with Jon Ervin, Visit South Walton’s Director of Marketing and Communications (December 2013)

South Walton Artist of the Year Andy Saczynski

Complete list of South Walton Artists of the Year:
2014: Mary Hong
2013: Andy Saczynski
2012: Allison Craft
2011: Allison Wickey
2010: Michael Granberry
2009: Michael McCarty
2008: Donna Burgess
2007: Bill Stephenson
2006: Phil Kiser
2005: Justin Gaffrey
2004: Susan Lucas
2003: Dorothy Starbuck

Share Button